The winners of the Honors will certainly be announced on August 25 as part of the group draw of the Champions League.

The German international Lena Oberdorf can expect the honor as Europe’s best footballer of the year.

The 20-year-old Oberdorf would be the fourth German victor after Nadine Angerer (2013 ), Nadine Kessler (2014) and also Celia Sasic (2015 ). DFB captain Alexandra Popp (VfL Wolfsburg) narrowly missed out on the jump to the podium as fourth.


Along with the English European champion Beth Mead (FC Arsenal) as well as safeguarding champ as well as globe footballer Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona), the player from the German champ VfL Wolfsburg is one of the three remaining candidates. The UEFA revealed this on Wednesday. With the instructors, national trainer Martina Voss-Tecklenburg likewise made it to the top three.

Voss-Tecklenburg completes for the award with the English nationwide trainer Sarina Wiegman and also Frenchwoman Sonia Bombastor (Olympique Lyon). In enhancement to chosen reporters, the 16 instructors of the teams, which were represented in the Champions Organization group phase last season, were additionally qualified to vote.